favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

Friendly geek looking for Personal Care Assistant (Byram)

compensation: $9.50/hour
employment type: full-time

NOTE: The start date for this position is beginning October.

Do you enjoy helping others? Are you a self-starter with a good attitude? This could be the job for you. I’m a 34-year-old web designer living in Byram. I have spinal muscular atrophy type 2, which means I need help with things like getting dressed and transferred into my wheelchair. I need assistance day and night, and I have a team of about four people that, between them, cover all my shifts.

Starting in October, I will have the following schedules available:

Schedule 1 (36 hours)

  • Monday, 6:30am – 6:30pm
  • Tuesday, 6:30am – 6:30pm
  • Wednesday, 6:30am – 6:30pm

Schedule 2 (40 hours)

  • Thursday, 6:30am – 6:30pm
  • Friday, 6:30am – 6:30pm
  • Saturday, 6:30am – 2:30pm
  • Sunday, 6:30am – 2:30pm

I’m looking for two candidates, one to work each schedule.

This position is funded through the Mississippi Department of Rehabilitation Services (MDRS). The hourly rate is $9.50. The position is in Byram, MS (my house).

Responsibilities of the position (this is a partial list)

  • Preparing for bed
  • Assistance with using the restroom
  • Bathing and dressing
  • Helping with meals
  • Light housework (dishes, laundry, keeping my areas clutter-free)
  • Repositioning/pressure relief
  • Personal hygiene (wipe eyes/nose, wash hands, etc)

The ideal candidate

  • Is professional and treats the job seriously
  • Is patient and can listen to instructions
  • Is dependable (on time, etc.) and trustworthy
  • Is positive and non-judgmental
  • Is respectful
  • Has good communication skills
  • Can be flexible about filling in or helping out when the need arises
  • Will respect my PCA Guidelines (https://pca.blakewatson.com/guidelines/)

I can’t understate how important it is that you look and act professionally. You will be assisting me in my home, so you need to have a good attitude and respect others who live here.

Preferred but not required

A background in personal care work, hospitality, or domestic services (or make the case for why your particular background is suitable)

Note: A CNA license is not required—I care more about your attitude and work ethic than a piece of paper you have.

What you get

  • An hourly rate of $9.50
  • A friendly work environment
  • Opportunities to have fun

I am a 34-year-old male. I have spinal muscular atrophy. I use a wheelchair and I need assistance with all of the above tasks. The more you tell me about yourself, the more likely that I will consider you for the position.

Must be willing to undergo a background check. A valid driver’s license is required.

  • Principals only. Recruiters, please don't contact this job poster.
  • do NOT contact us with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6959563128

posted:

updated:

best of [?]